A Liebster Award and a super easy honey cake

wpid-2015-08-30-00.23.22.jpg.jpeg

liebsteraward-roses-tagI have to thank Claudia at Old CountryGirl for nominating me for this award. I will admit that it is lovely when fellow bloggers recognise something you do. Claudia has a beautiful blog and I love her recipes. She is German and has learned so much about cooking from her grandmother. I love that she posts recipes and ideas that have a history to them. Ojne of the great things about cooking is how it brings back memories of people we love. If you haven´t checked out her blog, please do!

Here are the rules for everybody who does not know how it works:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you
  2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator
  3. Display the Liebster Award logo in your post
  4. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers
  5. Create 11 questions for the nominees
  6. Notify all nominees via social media/blogs that they have been nominated

Here were my questions that I was asked to answer:

  1. Name one unexpected thing (if there is one) about being a blogger!

It has been a pleasant surprise to ¨meet¨so many interesting and friendly bloggers!

2.  My husband argue about it a lot 😉 Meat or seafood? if you can choose!

Without a doubt, meat ends up winning every time.

3. What makes you smile?

Loads of things make me smile. My family, my husband, my students..Trying to see the funny side of life is important.

4. What do you prefer, the beach or snowy mountains?

The snowy mountains please! I am not a beach person. I just turn into a lobster and I can´t stand the immense heat. It also drives me nuts to be at crowded beaches where people are practically siting on your lap.  And don´t even get me started on the G strings! Yuck!

5. What is one of your favorite restaurants?

I am quite keen on sushi so any place that serves it makes me happy.

6. Name your favorite country and tell why?

France is an unbelievably beautiful country. Its history is so rich and its food is incredible. Just a simple yogurt tastes divine.

7. What is your favorite dish to make by yourself?

Eggs, sunny side up! In Spain, eggs are often served like this for dinner but never for breakfast. I quite like them at lunch time too!

8. What do you appreciate most in life?

My family, my health and my job.  I am grateful for an income in a country where the majority are unemployed. Of course, I didn´t get it by luck, it came with hard work!

9. What do you prefer? Cooking or baking?

That is hard to choose! It depends on my mood! I like them both!

10. I or we love our dog! Do you have pets, too?

Yes. My husband saved a baby goldfinch that he found at work. It is now our pet. I am not wild about having birds in the house but he is a cutie.

wpid-20150826_170013.jpg

11. What is one of the most stunning & breathtaking attractions you`ve seen on your travels?

The Mont Blanc in Switzerland. It was just incredible. I was there in August and to see the enormous Alps covered in snow and to smell the gorgeous fresh air was very emotional for me. I will never forget it.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

And now for my questions for my nominees:

1.What is a food that you tried but simply cannot stand?

2.Is there any talent that you wish you had?

3.Do you have a favourite film?

4.Are you a night owl or an early bird?

5.What is your signature meal that you prepare when guests are coming?

6.What do you think is one of the most important lessons you have learned in life?

7.What is your favourite dish?

8. What kind of music do you prefer?

9. What is your ideal way to relax?

10.Is there a dish you are afraid of trying to make?

11. If you could go back in time, where would you go?

My nominees are

Lynz Real Cooking

Simply Splendid Food

The V Pub

Chef Mary Berry

* Please remember that you are by no means obligated to participate. I am just happy to be able to nominate you and to call attention to your blogs.

And now for the recipe!

This recipe is simple and perfect with coffee or tea!

Ingredients

  • 250 grams flour, sifted
  • 3 large eggs, separated, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 16 grams baking powder
  • 120 ml de miel
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 150 ml milk
  • 120 ml olive oil

Preheat oven to 180

1. In a small pot, heat the honey on low heat. This is to liquify it more. When it is liquified, remove it from the heat and pour it in a large mixing bowl.

2. Beat the egg yolks and sugar into the honey. The mixture should have a whitish and slightly bubbly appearance. Add the milk, cinnamon and oil and mix well..

3. Add the sifted flour along with the baking powder and mix well. In a separate small bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff. Fold them into the flour mixture until just incorporated.

4. Grease a cake pan (Used one that is 10 inches wide and 3 inches deep) and pour the mixture in. Bake for about 30 minutes.Test for doneness with a toothpick. Let cool for about 10 minutes and remove to a wire rack to cool down completely. Sprinkle with a bit of icing sugar and drizzle with a bit of honey.

wpid-2015-08-31-11.27.33.jpg.jpeg

Enjoy! xxxx Natascha

25 thoughts on “A Liebster Award and a super easy honey cake

  1. Congratulations Natascha! You deserve many awards! (I wanted to nominate you for the last one too, but I thought you had too many followers now! So congrats on that also!) Beautiful cake too!

      1. Hi Natascha! Just wanted to let you know that I will be cooking and writing about it this week in my “WordPress Cooking Challenge” and linking back to your blog for the original recipe!

  2. Congrats on your award! I’m so sorry in my late response, but thank you. I’ve just returned from vacation and I’m looking forward to responding to this. Thanks again!

    Rob

      1. Natascha, I’m finally going to post today! I must apologize first – for some reason it appears I am not following your blog. I don’t know how it happened, but you should see my ‘new’ follow.

      2. Oh! Looking forward to seeing your post! Don’t worry…I have two blogs. One is a foodie blog and the other is where I mouth off now and then haha! Thank you for following me! 😙😙😙😙👍👍👍👍

Comments are closed.