Tomato and celery soup

image

While I was visiting my mom over Easter, she told me about an Argentinian contemplative nun (who actually appears on a cooking show here in Spain) that has recently had a cookbook of her recipes published. She is the cook in her convent and uses fresh and healthy ingredients, many of which the nuns cultivate themselves. The book is a bestseller! I was pretty intrigued so I figured I would have a look. The nun’s name is Lucía Caram, and so far, I am pretty happy with her recipes! I especially like how she introduces her book:
🌸The secret to happiness is to love life and share it.🌸
On that note, I will share with you the first recipe I tried! I chose it because the weather has been so erratic lately that a good tomato soup will definitely help keep us healthy! 🙂 We loved this and my husband ate two big bowls of it! Hurray for healthy and yummy!

Serves 6

Ingredients:
1.5 kilos  tomatoes
1 large stick celery, finely chopped
1 onion
1 tablespoon oregano
1 boiled egg, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
250 ml tomato juice
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Scald the tomatoes. Peel, remove the seeds and chop. ( The recipe does not say to remove the seeds but I think the soup looks better without it!)

In a pot, heat the olive oil on low heat. Add the garlic and onion and fry until transluscent. Stir occasionally so that it fries evenly. Add the tomatoes. Stir until incorporated.

Dilute the tomato juice slightly with a tablespoon or so of water, if the juice is pretty thick. Add to the onion mixture along with the chopped celery. Add the oregano and let cook, covered, on low heat for about 20 minutes.

Then blend the mixture using a hand blender. If you find it is a bit too thick, add a bit more water til you get the consistency you like! Serve sprinkled with a bit of chopped boiled egg.  You can omit the egg, but it is a very Spanish thing to do to add it over tomato soup or even sprinkled over gazpacho!

Enjoy! Xxxx Natascha

Adapted from Las Recetas de Sor Lucía

4 thoughts on “Tomato and celery soup

Comments are closed.